‘This is America, man’ – because he’s giving the second of our Winter Lectures tonight, here’s Michael Wood on the Wire, from the archive.

LRB · Michael Wood · This is America, man

buff.ly
‘Management consultant initiatives and stealth privatisations have for years set about the NHS like termites, nibbling away at the beams and struts of a once magnificent structure. But the whole edifice is now on the brink of collapse’ – Gavin Francis on the NHS crisis, from the new issue.

LRB · Gavin Francis · Diary

buff.ly
‘We love the objects we think with; we think with the objects we love’ – Sherry Turkle remembers Seymour Papert, on the LRB blog.

Sherry Turkle: Remembering Seymour Papert

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/23/2017 at 18:17. Facebook
‘It might be useful to see this show with a 16-year-old’ – Alice Spawls on Post-Internet Art at the Zabludowicz Collection, from the LRB blog.

Alice Spawls: Post-Internet Art

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/23/2017 at 13:04. Facebook
‘What was once true about the now passé term “postmodernism” is true for the Anthropocene today: it names an effort to consider the contemporary world historically, in an age that otherwise struggles with its attention span’ – Benjamin Kunkel on the Capitalocene, from the new issue.

LRB · Benjamin Kunkel · The Capitalocene

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/23/2017 at 10:15. Facebook
Last few tickets left for tomorrow’s LRB Winter Lecture at the British Museum, in which Michael Wood will explore, through the movies of Fritz Lang, how lively crime can be, and how cinema contributes to that effect.

Winter Lectures · LRB

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/22/2017 at 17:42. Facebook
‘Even-handedness obscures the fundamental fact that has shaped US-Russian relations since the end of the Cold War: the huge imbalance in power and resources between the two parties’ – Tony Wood on Russia and the West, from the new issue.

LRB · Tony Wood · Eat Your Spinach

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/22/2017 at 15:29. Facebook
‘One might marvel at what stirs the underused muscles of conscience in a Breitbart staffer were the temptation to schadenfreude not so overwhelming’ – James Butler on Milo Yiannopoulos, from the blog. Artwork from our 28 September 1989 cover.

James Butler: Milo’s Stumble

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/22/2017 at 12:49. Facebook
Our new issue is now online: lrb.me/7ck
London Review of Books
02/22/2017 at 10:08. Facebook
‘Every day when you go to the bookshop, you will see so many bourgeois memoirs. And nobody will say, pejoratively, oh it’s a bourgeois memoir! It’s only when poor people write.’ Edouard Louis on victimisation, misery memoirs and ‘The End of Eddy’, from his recent London Review Bookshop event with Tash Aw. Read Aw’s piece about Louis from the latest issue: lrb.me/gck
London Review of Books
02/21/2017 at 21:01. Facebook
‘In Baltimore, I saw a microcosm of what broad-based resistance to the Trump administration might look like’ – Ellie Mae O’Hagan on the Algebra Project, from the LRB blog.

Ellie Mae O’Hagan: In Baltimore

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/21/2017 at 17:11. Facebook
Too kind, Melanie Phillips! Time to subscribe? mylrb.co.uk/fb17a
London Review of Books
02/21/2017 at 14:02. Facebook
I am an American, an Iranian, an immigrant, a citizen, a Catholic-Muslim agnostic anthropologist.

Roxanne Varzi: Am I an immigrant?

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/20/2017 at 19:03. Facebook
‘When we say “France”, it means, not my mother, not my father. And we felt that when I was a kid. And now they are having their revenge.’ Edouard Louis on social class and ‘The End of Eddy’, from his recent London Review Bookshop event with Tash Aw. Watch the full video: lrb.me/ack
London Review of Books
02/20/2017 at 13:05. Facebook
‘America’s favourite fighting Frenchman’ – Nathan Perl-Rosenthal on the marquis de Lafayette, reconsidered, from the latest issue.

LRB · Nathan Perl-Rosenthal · Dangerously Amiable

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/20/2017 at 09:45. Facebook
‘A prudential approach to immortality is understandable coming from someone who had been transmogrified into a sacred relic during his lifetime’ – Simon Schama on Bernard Berenson, from 1980.

LRB · Simon Schama · Berenson’s Elixir

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/19/2017 at 20:34. Facebook
‘His extravagant gift required an extravagant end’ – Sophie Pinkham on Mayakovsky, from the latest issue.

LRB · Sophie Pinkham · When were you thinking of shooting yourself?

buff.ly
London Review of Books
02/19/2017 at 14:30. Facebook
The people on the anti-abortion side were older, paler; they wore different clothes from us and spoke with a different accent. It felt like being among foreigners. If it hadn’t been for how deeply we disagreed with one another, we would never have met at all.

Moira Donegan: Arguing with Strangers

buff.ly