London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/26/2017 at 12:11. Facebook
We’re just a magazine, standing in front of our readers, asking them to love us: lrb.me/h9k
We’re just a magazine standing in front of our readers asking them to love us: lrbmeh9k
Chris Lloyd Eley
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/26/2017 at 08:58. Facebook
‘Troy can’t be secured because the wooden horse is already inside’ – Glen Newey on the new state of emergency, from the blog.
Troy cant be secured because the wooden horse is already inside Glen

Glen Newey: State of Emergency

buff.ly
On our latest podcast, Karma Nabulsi reads her piece from the last issue about the British government’s Prevent programme.
On our latest podcast Karma Nabulsi reads her piece from the last

LRB · Karma Nabulsi · Snitching on Students

buff.ly
‘One of his greatest achievements was to awaken the desire to read him, while all the time letting us know that the desire was doomed’ – Wendy Steiner on Jean-Michel Basquiat, from the archive.
One of his greatest achievements was to awaken the desire to read

LRB · Wendy Steiner · Here/Not Here

buff.ly
‘The Daily Mail is like the drunken lout at a party who can’t get anyone to like him. Suddenly all the girls are sluts and all the men are poofs and he’s swinging at the chandelier before being huckled outside to vomit on the lawn.’
The Daily Mail is like the drunken lout at a party who

LRB · Andrew O’Hagan · Dacre’s Paper

buff.ly
Tee Murrpphy
Paul Midgley
Luca Menato
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/24/2017 at 18:31. Facebook
Adam Dinsmore
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/24/2017 at 15:37. Facebook
‘Knee-jerk responses that intensify public fear do nothing to contribute to our ability to combat terrorism and, indeed, satisfy the objectives of those who detonate the bombs’ – Des Freedman on the terror news cycle, from the blog.
Kneejerk responses that intensify public fear do nothing to contribute to our

Des Freedman: The Terror News Cycle

buff.ly
テイル ドラッガー
Avery Morrow
Eva Cinquini
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/24/2017 at 12:22. Facebook
Our new issue is now online, featuring John Lanchester and James Meek on the election, Jan-Werner Müller on constitutional fantasies in Brussels, Andrew O’Hagan on Dacre’s horrible paper and Elaine Mokhtefi on the Black Panthers in Algiers.
Our new issue is now online featuring John Lanchester and James Meek

Contents · LRB 1 June 2017

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/24/2017 at 08:45. Facebook
‘Thanks for being called Dick’ – Jenny Turner on Chris Kraus, from 2015.
‘Thanks for being called Dick’ – Jenny Turner on Chris Kraus from 2015

LRB · Jenny Turner · ‘I Love Dick’

buff.ly
Cade Foster
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/23/2017 at 18:39. Facebook
‘Someone onto whom we can project our hopes for something better than we have at present’ – Fredrik Logevall on Bobby Kennedy, from the latest issue.
Someone onto whom we can project our hopes for something better than

LRB · Fredrik Logevall · The President’s Alternate

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/23/2017 at 11:57. Facebook
‘The deathly kiss Cooper receives in his nightmare from a girl “filled with secrets” could stand for the ghoulishly thrilling intercourse between the lawful and the wild, for the impulse to get down to human nature’s bottom line’ – Philip Horne on Twin Peaks, from the archive.
The deathly kiss Cooper receives in his nightmare from a girl filled

LRB · Philip Horne · Henry Hill and Laura Palmer

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
Roberta Klimt
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/23/2017 at 10:03. Facebook
The UK’s demand to quit the ECJ’s jurisdiction comes at a price.
The UK’s demand to quit the ECJ’s jurisdiction comes at a price

LRB · Francis FitzGibbon · Short Cuts

buff.ly
Cliff Elliott
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/22/2017 at 17:21. Facebook
May has pulled off yet another strong and stable U-turn.
May has pulled off yet another strong and stable Uturn

Glen Newey: Theresa Maybe

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
Sandy Guy
Carleigh Bot
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/22/2017 at 11:51. Facebook
‘I often take children to see these, before I introduce them to Bacchus and Ariadne’ – Nicholas Penny on the Boris Anrep mosaics at the National Gallery. Watch the full video: lrb.me/jrk
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/22/2017 at 09:46. Facebook
‘Those mimes aren’t really playing tennis but it is really tennis they are miming. And the gun is in the bushes, whoever is holding it and whoever gets shot or caught in a shot.’

Michael Wood on Antonioni’s Blow-Up, from the latest issue.
Those mimes arent really playing tennis but it is really tennis they

LRB · Michael Wood · At the Movies

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/21/2017 at 17:33. Facebook
I didn’t tell the Syrian poet living in Arkansas about the many times during the Libyan revolution when I had thought of putting down my pen and picking up a gun.
I didnt tell the Syrian poet living in Arkansas about the many

LRB · Hisham Matar · Diary

buff.ly
Eva Cinquini
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/21/2017 at 13:54. Facebook
If Muhammad Rabbani is found guilty when he goes to court on 20 June, a British citizen will have been convicted of a terrorism offence for not giving border guards access to his electronic devices.
If Muhammad Rabbani is found guilty when he goes to court on

Musab Younis: What’s your password?

buff.ly
Michael Foley
Richard Tagart
Eva Cinquini
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/20/2017 at 16:52. Facebook
‘The tragic aspect of Brexitism is that, like so many successful rebellions, it is not making history but going with its flow, not expropriating but empowering a rising class of libertarian enthusiasts who own the means of data production’ – Alan Finlayson on Brexitism, from the latest issue.
The tragic aspect of Brexitism is that like so many successful rebellions

LRB · Alan Finlayson · Brexitism

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
Richard Tagart
Philip Ebbrell
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/20/2017 at 10:00. Facebook
‘The official line is that the post-Brexit economy is set to boom, but there are intimations that there’s not much juice left in the lemon’ – Glen Newey on Theresa May’s manifesto, from the blog.
The official line is that the postBrexit economy is set to boom

Glen Newey: Theresa May’s Manifesto

buff.ly
Richard Tagart
Geert Poorteman
London Review of Books
London Review of Books
05/19/2017 at 17:33. Facebook
‘If the hospitality at Huntington Hartford’s luxury resort gave him a long rolling orgasm, imagine how much he might plotz at Mar-a-Lago’ – James Wolcott on Norman Podhoretz and ‘Making It’, from the latest issue, now de-paywalled.
If the hospitality at Huntington Hartfords luxury resort gave him a long

LRB · James Wolcott · Enemies For Ever

buff.ly