The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/24/2017 at 16:05. Facebook
“I wanted to understand what was poetry, and how one should write so that it could respond once again to the demands of the century.” —Yves Bonnefoy, #bornonthisday in 1923.
I wanted to understand what was poetry and how one should write

Yves Bonnefoy, The Art of Poetry No. 69

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/24/2017 at 15:20. Facebook
“With Italo Calvino, every comma and sound has an importance, and it isn’t only a question of getting the words right. It’s a question of not spoiling the rhythm, of getting the cadences and the tone exactly right.” —William Weaver
With Italo Calvino every comma and sound has an importance and it

William Weaver, The Art of Translation No. 3

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 19:38. Facebook
What the staff of ‘The Paris Review’ is reading right now.
What the staff of ‘The Paris Review’ is reading right now

Staff Picks: Alec Wilkinson, Ali Smith, Long Ling, and More

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 17:09. Facebook
“Most poetry is very formal, but when a modern poet is formal he gets more attention for it than old poets did.” — Robert Lowell
Most poetry is very formal but when a modern poet is formal

Robert Lowell, The Art of Poetry No. 3

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 17:05. Facebook
“The story has a special relationship with mortality.”
“The story has a special relationship with mortality”

Ali Smith, The Art of Fiction No. 236

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 16:51. Facebook
In the refulgent early seventies, I kept the Allman Brothers Band’s ‘Eat a Peach’ on the mantelpiece above my fireplace.
In the refulgent early seventies I kept the Allman Brothers Bands Eat

One Way Out: Memories of the Allman Brothers (And My Mailman)

theparisreview.org
James Elliker
Cail Richards
Edison Aardvark
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 15:57. Facebook
“ … I’m sick of being
god for you … ”
Im sick of being
god for you

“Sweet Heart,” a New Poem by Eileen Myles

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 14:05. Facebook
What does green ketchup teach us? That corporations, our gods, are as fallible as we are.
What does green ketchup teach us That corporations our gods are as fallible as we are

A New Museum Memorializes the Commercial World’s Biggest Failures

theparisreview.org
Henry Coates
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 13:35. Facebook
“What interests me as a novelist is not the malevolence of man—so what else is new?—but his looniness.” —Walker Percy
What interests me as a novelist is not the malevolence of manso

Walker Percy, The Art of Fiction No. 97

theparisreview.org
Bette Jane Booth
Travis Best
Rick van der Waarden
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/23/2017 at 13:05. Facebook
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 22:05. Facebook
“ … Captivity
thus keeps us fresh.
Our arguments
are circular:
we love to writhe … ”
Captivity thus keeps us fresh Our arguments are circular we love

“Spoken for a Pair of Ferrets,” a Poem by Stephen Burt

theparisreview.org
Joshua Sellers
Will Pore
Julio Mauricio Londoño
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 20:05. Facebook
The first published English-language translation of The Odyssey—by a woman.
The first published Englishlanguage translation of The Odyssey—by a woman

From the ‘Odyssey,’ Book I

theparisreview.org
Michael Steven
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 19:21. Facebook
“The most essential gift for a good writer is a built-in, shockproof, shit detector.”
“The most essential gift for a good writer is a builtin shockproof shit detector”

Ernest Hemingway, The Art of Fiction No. 21

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 19:08. Facebook
Billy Wilder was #bornonthisday in 1906. Read his Art of Screenwriting interview here:
Billy Wilder was bornonthisday in 1906 Read his Art of Screenwriting interview here:

Billy Wilder, The Art of Screenwriting No. 1

theparisreview.org
Kevin McManus
Myles Walsh
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 18:34. Facebook
Can a game tell a good yarn? Developers have grappled with “interactive stories” for decades, with mixed results:
Can a game tell a good yarn Developers have grappled with interactive

When Video Games Were Playable Stories

theparisreview.org
Dave Filipovich
Nicholas Lee Adama Phd
Paul Grimstad
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 18:32. Facebook
Can a game tell a good yarn? Developers have grappled with “interactive stories” for decades, with mixed results:
Can a game tell a good yarn Developers have grappled with interactive

When Video Games Were Playable Stories

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 18:05. Facebook
Anderson has described his paintings of Jamaica and Trinidad as an effort “to get to know these places in a secondhand, hard way”—the way of imagination.
Anderson has described his paintings of Jamaica and Trinidad as an effort

“Never-Ending Time,” Paintings by Hurvin Anderson

theparisreview.org
Michael Schirripa
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 16:57. Facebook
“The sky is not a glass of anything;
it winks, it’s a parable,
the kind your mother told whenever
you’d been ‘wicked’—intense
but vague. The night sky swerves
to its seat, the show begins … ”
The sky is not a glass of anything it winks its a

“Stargazing,” a Poem by Rita Dove

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 16:05. Facebook
“I used
to love
so much
to show
you
my
poems.
But everything’s
not enough … ”
I used to love so much to show you my poems But

“Sweet Heart,” a New Poem by Eileen Myles

theparisreview.org
The Paris Review
The Paris Review
06/22/2017 at 15:59. Facebook
“These are books and pages intended to be seen but not necessarily read.”
“These are books and pages intended to be seen but not necessarily read”

The Subversive Pleasures of Handling Artists’ Books

theparisreview.org